ELECTIONS: DPP secures absolute majority in Legislative Yuan

AT-LARGE:The New Power Party was a surprise winner in the party vote, joining the DPP, KMT and PFP as the only parties to surpass the 5-percentage-point threshold

Taipei Times
Date: Jan 17, 2016
By: Alison Hsiao / Staff reporter

The Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) yesterday won an absolute

Graphic: Constance Chou and June Hsu, Taipei Times

Graphic: Constance Chou and June Hsu, Taipei Times

majority in the 113-seat legislature for the first time, with 60 percent of its regional legislative candidates winning in their respective electoral districts and securing more than 44 percent of the vote.

The Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT) has lost the 64-seat majority it won in 2012, retaining 35 seats in the legislature.

The newly formed New Power Party (NPP) had spectacular success, winning all three districts where it fielded regional legislative candidates and crossing the 5-percentage-point threshold to be awarded legislator-at-large seats.

The most attention-grabbing legislators-elect are the NPP’s Huang Kuo-chang (黃國昌), Hung Tzu-yung (洪慈庸) and Freddy Lim (林昶佐), as well as the DPP’s Hsiao Bi-khim (蕭美琴) in Hualien County, who had all been predicted to have tough battles in traditional KMT strongholds.     [FULL  STORY]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.