CARTOON: Who Are Taiwan’s Remaining Diplomatic Allies?

Panama severed ties with Taipei earlier this month. Who are Taiwan’s remaining 20 diplomatic allies?

The News Lens
Date: 2017/06/23
By: Stellina Chen

Panama severed ties with Taipei in favor of Beijing earlier this month. The move took the number of

Photo Credit: Stellina Chen

Taiwan’s diplomatic allies to 20. Do you know of these countries?

The Republic of Kiribati, the land of the Maneaba, is an island-nation in the central Pacific Ocean with a population just over 100,000. The president is Taneti Mamau.

The Republic of Marshall Islands, neighboring Kiribati and Nauru, is one of the only countries in the Asia-Pacific area with a female leader. The president is Hilda Heine.

The Republic of Nauru, formerly known as Pleasant Island, has been dubbed “Australia’s dumping ground for refugees” by The Guardian. The president is Baron Waqa.    [FULL  STORY]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.