Health ministry to promote cooperation with SE and SEA countries

Radio Taiwan International
Date: 2017-08-21

The Ministry of Health and Welfare has mapped out a plan to strengthen cooperation with countries covered under the government’s New Southbound Policy in the areas of health and medical care.

The New Southbound Policy is aimed at forging closer ties with India, New Zealand, Australia and ASEAN member countries. ASEAN refers to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

Under the plan, the ministry will inject NT$1.6 billion (US$53.3 million) over four years into its cooperation with eight key countries, starting next year. They include India, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, the Philippines, Malaysia, Cambodia and Myanmar.

Health Minister Chen Shih-chung said on Monday the government wants to strengthen regional epidemic prevention and set up a mechanism in which medicine, clinical trials and drug inspections are mutually recognized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.