India includes Taiwan in its e-Tourist Visa program

Taiwan News
Date: 2015-08-09
By Ho Horn-ru and Elizabeth Hsu, Central News Agency

New Delhi, Aug. 9 (CNA) Taiwanese citizens will soon have an easier time traveling to India after the Indian government decided to include Taiwan in its electronic tourist visa program.

The holders of passports from Taiwan and other 35 nations can use the new service beginning on Aug. 15, the Indian government announced Saturday on its official website for the e-Tourist Visa Facility at That will bring the total number of countries covered by the visa program to 113 countries, and it is expected to be available to 150 countries by the end of the year, the Indian government said.

The program, launched on Nov. 27, 2014, is designed to streamline visa application procedures and boost tourist visits to India. Seven more airports in India will also be added on Aug. 15 to the list of designated airports permitting entry on an e-Tourist Visa. The airports are in Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Gaya, Jaipur, Lucknow, Tirchy, and Varanasi. There are currently nine airports designated for entry on an e-Tourist Visa. Over 200,000 electronic visas have been issued since the new visa scheme was launched.     [FULL  STORY]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.