KMT confirms 31 of 34 legislator-at-large nominees

Focus Taiwan
Date: 2019/11/20
By: Yu Hsiang and Evelyn Kao

Taipei, Nov. 20 (CNA) The opposition Kuomintang (KMT) Central Committee formally confirmed 31 of its

From left to right are Tseng Ming-chung, Wu Sz-huai and Wu Den-yih

34 nominees for legislator- at-large positions Wednesday.

The confirmation came after former Mainland Affairs Council (MAC) Deputy Minister Chang Hsien-yao's (張顯耀) No. 17 listing was voted down by a 57-106 margin and the delisting of KMT Central Standing Committee member Fan Cheng-lien (范成連) and Shi Xueyan (史雪燕), the head of an association of Chinese spouses of Taiwanese citizens.

Fan announced a day earlier that he was voluntarily standing down from his No. 19 spot on the list because he wants to concentrate on doing business in China, while Shi was delisted because she failed to pay a deposit of NT$200,000 (US$6,600) to register her candidacy.

The KMT announced its nominees for at-large legislative seats Nov. 13, with former Central Police University Professor Yeh Yu-lan (葉毓蘭) topping the list.    [FULL  STORY]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.