None of Taiwan’s Boao delegation members will be new cabinet members

Focus Taiwan
Date: 2016/03/20
By: Chen Chia-lun and S.C. Chang

Taipei, March 20 (CNA) Former Vice President Vincent Siew (蕭萬長) will

Former Vice President Vincent Siew (left, CNA file photo)

Former Vice President Vincent Siew (left, CNA file photo)

lead Taiwan’s 33-member delegation to the Boao Forum for Asia that is kicking off in China March 22, and none in the delegation will serve as Cabinet members in the Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文) administration to be sworn in on May 20, said an executive of the Cross-Strait Common Market Foundation Sunday.

Siew will meet with Chinese Premier Li Keqiang (李克強) on March 24 and attend a dinner party hosted by Zhang Zhijun (張志軍), China’s Taiwan affairs minister that evening, said Chen Te-sheng (陳德昇), executive director of the foundation which organized the visit.

Siew will be representing Taiwan in his capacity as honorary chairman of the foundation, Chen said, noting Siew will give a press conference on his meeting with Li after the dinner party.

All members in the Taiwanese delegation are economics and financial experts and specialists, and none of whom will be “quasi-officials” who will serve in Taiwan’s next government to be led by Democratic Progressive Party’s Tsai, he said.     [FULL  STORY]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.