Taiwan extends visa-free entry for four countries

Focus Taiwan
Date: 07/23/2020
By: Emerson Lim

Pixabay image for illustrative purposes only

Taipei, July 23 (CNA) Taiwan's Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) announced on Thursday that the visa-free privilege extended to tourists from Thailand, Brunei, the Philippines and Russia will be extended for one year, effective from Aug. 1, 2020 to July 31, 2021.

However, the MOFA clarified that the policy does not constitute a relaxation of Taiwan's current ban on the entry of foreign tourists due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

"Whether restrictions on foreign nationals coming to Taiwan for tourism purposes will be relaxed depends on the Central Epidemic Command Center's (CECC's) assessment of the global pandemic situation," the MOFA said in a statement.

The decision to extend the visa-free treatment for the four countries was reached following assessments by relevant agencies in an inter-agency meeting on May 29, 2020, the MOFA said.    [FULL  STORY]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.