Tang Prize laureates receive awards in Taipei

Focus Taiwan
Date: 2018/09/21
By: Chen Chih-chung, Elizabeth Hsu, Flor Wang and William Yen 

Taipei, Sept. 21 (CNA) A grand ceremony was held at Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall in Taipei Friday, at which eight 2018 Tang Prize laureates received awards honoring their achievements in the fields of sustainable development, biopharmaceutical science, sinology and rule of law.

Seven laureates attended the ceremony, including James Edward Hansen and Veerabhadran Ramanathan, who shared the award for Sustainable Development; Yoshinobu Shiba and Stephen Owen the prize for Sinology; and Joseph Raz, the sole winner of the Rule of Law prize.

Tony Hunter, Brian Druker and John Mendelsohn received the award for Biopharmaceutical Science, with Mendelsohn’s son Jeff Mendelsohn accepting the award on his father’s behalf at the Friday ceremony.

This is the first time eight awardees have been honored since the biennial award was launched in 2014 to honor top researchers in the four fields.    [FULL  STORY]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.