NPP re-elects Huang as chairman

Taiwan News
Date: 2016-03-25
By: Matthew Strong, Taiwan News, Staff Writer

TAIPEI (Taiwan News) – Legislator Huang Kuo-chang was re-elected chairman of the New 6743746Power Party Friday.

The party, which emerged from the 2014 Sunflower Movement, failed to elect a new leader on March 15 because at least three members of its seven-member leadership committee were absent.

All seven members were present Friday to vote for a chairman, and they decided to give Huang, an Academia Sinica scholar, a second term. He said the group would cooperate closely and work on the formation of eight special committees. The new leadership of the NPP would consist of the seven leadership committee members and the chairpersons of the eight new committees, Huang said.

The members of the leadership group are Huang, fellow legislators Freddy Lim and Kawlo Iyun Pacidal, writer Neil Peng, movie director Ko I-chen, legal reform activist Lin Feng-cheng and writer Lin Shih-yu.

The NPP won five seats in the January 16 elections, three in district seats and two from its at-large list decided by votes for a political party.     [FULL  STORY]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.