Virus Outbreak: Foreigners face new entry restrictions

ON ALERT: The CECC has designated China’s Zhejiang Province a secondary epidemic area, as 829 coronavirus infections were confirmed there as of Monday

Taipei Times
Date: Feb 05, 2020
By: Lee I-chia  /  Staff reporter

Due to the 2019 novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) outbreak in China, the Central Epidemic

Minister of Health and Welfare Chen Shih-chung gives an update on the 2019 novel coronavirus outbreak, at the government’s epidemic response command center in Taipei yesterday.
Photo: Lin Cheng-kung, Taipei Times

Command Center (CECC) yesterday announced that foreign nationals who have visited China within the previous two weeks would be denied entry into Taiwan starting on Friday, adding that it has also listed China’s Zhejiang Province as a secondary epidemic area.

Starting on Friday, foreign nationals who have visited or resided in China — excluding Hong Kong and Macau — within the previous 14 days would be prohibited from entering Taiwan, Department of International Cooperation and Economic Affairs Director-General Phoebe Yeh (葉非比) told a CECC news conference.

The restriction includes those who are eligible for visa-free treatment, landing visas and e-visas, as well as those who have valid visas, she said.    [FULL  STORY]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.