Visa-free entry for Philippines, Thailand, Brunei, Russia extended

Focus Taiwan
Date: 2019/07/02
By: Joseph Yeh

Image taken from Pixabay for illustrative purpose only

Taipei, July 2 (CNA) Taiwan on Tuesday announced an extension of visa-free treatment for citizens of the Philippines, Thailand, Brunei and Russia for another year after seeing significant growth in tourist numbers from these countries thanks to the program.

The visa-free trial program for the four countries was originally set to expire July 31, according to a Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) press release.

Following a May 24 cross-ministerial meeting attended by representatives of government units in charge of national security, the police, the investigation bureau, immigration, tourism and the economy, an agreement was reached to extend the program for another year, according to the statement.

Government figures show that the visa-free program, allowing foreign nationals from those countries to enjoy visa-free entry to Taiwan for stays of up to 14 days, has helped increase visitor arrivals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.